I’m not sure why romance has been on my mind so much lately. A side effect of being single for so long and then making the mistake of making out with what was practically a stranger? I think I’ll just blame it on an imbalance of hormones. Whatever the reason, I feel likeĀ  discussing soulmates.

There are so many opinions on soulmates. Some believe soulmates are just a nice fairy tale. But I want to talk about the theory that I find the most frightening. That there’s only one soulmate for each of us and once they’re gone, that’s it. You’re doomed to a lonely existence. I don’t subscribe to this theory. I believe there are many kinds of soulmates and that they come into your life as family members, best friends or just people that get you. A soulmate doesn’t have to be a romantic partner, after all. But for the sake of this post, I’ll write this as if my perfect someone is wrapped up all into oneĀ  neat little package.

So what would happen if there was only that one person out there for me? I am almost positive the man would do something idiotic and leave me on my own. This very specific scenario has been stuck in my mind: He’s riding in the bed of a pick-up truck that hits a bump and he’s thrown out. His head hits the pavement and he’s knocked into a coma. And never we meet. I just can’t shake the feeling that something tragic would happen. I may be something of a pessimist or I’ve just read too many classic tragedies lately.

There I am, doomed to wander the Earth alone. Not that I would completely go to pieces, I love the time I have to myself. I have too many siblings not to appreciate peace and quiet. But I’d also love to share it with someone like a soulmate, someone that understand all the bits and pieces of me.

So, coma-soulmate if you exist, I give you this warning: You better wake up and find me soon or you can just stay in that coma. Because if you waste my time, I’ll give you hell.

One thought on “Romantic Musings

  1. Lol! I can’t say how much I love the end of this post! I don’t believe in the “only one person” theory either. If everyone has freedom of choice than what happens if this “chosen one” chooses to jump the first woman he sees? What happens to me? I’m more inclined to agree with you if only for that fact that it gives me hope for the future.

    Like

Leave a Reply

